Bird and Belle's Adventures in Marriage

Is Chicken a Rooster or a Hen?

2 Comments

During the course of this pregnancy I have had 11 ultrasounds – thanks IVF, placenta complications and breech positioning! For the first five little Chicken was too tiny for anyone to determine gender. During the other 7, though, parts were clearly visible.

Jay and I agreed from the get-go that we would not find out baby’s gender. After a very planned and scientific conception, the gender was really the only surprise. There were times that I struggled with our choice, like when we were arguing over names or the when I was having a  hard time bonding with the creature flogging my internal organs. There were several ultrasounds that I was dead set on asking for the gender when I walked in, but as soon as that tiny little beating heart and those long, long legs popped up on the screen I was ok waiting.

At 39 weeks pregnant I can say that not finding out the gender was the BEST decision for us. Chicken is still breech meaning even his/her birth date will not be a surprise so the gender is really and truly the only surprise we have coming and I. Can’t. Wait!

Jay and I have been going back and forth with our gender guesses the entire pregnancy and it seems the general population all has an opinion, too. Friends, family and complete strangers ask if we know the gender then scrutinize my bump and SWEAR I’m having a _____. So far these guesses are a pretty even girl/boy split – which only makes sense seeing as how it can only go one way or the other!

I thought it would be fun to let our readers play along, too, but since most of you are very far away and have not gotten to experience my pregnancy in real life, let me answer some gender prediction myths to help guide your decision:

  1. Carrying low or high? This Chicken has been high for the entire pregnancy. My right lung will attest.
    This means: Chicken is A GIRL
  2. Is the weight all out front or is it evenly distributed around the sides? Mostly out in the front (and in the butt!).
    This means: Chicken is A BOY
  3. Is your face round and full? Not really.
    This means: Chicken is A BOY
  4. Have I had issues with acne during pregnancy? Nope. Actually, my skin has looked better than ever during pregnancy.
    This means: Chicken is A BOY
  5. Did I have any morning sickness? Not a single drop of vomit and very, very little nausea – THANK GOODNESS!
    This means: Chicken is A BOY
  6. Is Dad gaining weight too? Nope!
    This means: Chicken is A GIRL
  7. Are you especially moody? Well, I would say no but…. I think Jay and others would disagree 🙂
    This means: Chicken is A GIRL
  8. Are you clumsy or graceful?  I have been surprisingly graceful and agile despite the large belly.
    This means: Chicken is A GIRL
  9. Is baby’s heartbeat averaging over 140 beats per minute or under 130? Thanks to the pocket fetal doppler a friend loaned me, I can say that Chicken’s heart rate is consistently clocking in the 120’s.
    This means: Chicken is A GIRL
  10. And finally, according to one study the mother of the baby is right about 71% of the time when she just guesses her baby’s sex. In which case, I’m absolutely certain this little Chicken is a A BOY

See that? A 50/50 split! I can tell you one thing with absolute certainty: Chicken is NOT another cat and really, that is ALL that matters to us 🙂

What do you think? Is Chicken a Rooster or a Hen?

2 thoughts on “Is Chicken a Rooster or a Hen?

  1. I thought the Chicken was a girl until I had a dream that it was not only a boy but 3 boys! So now I’m going with boy. I can’t wait to meet my little niece or nephew! So excited!

  2. My guess would be Boy. I flipped a coin and it was heads, so it must be a boy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

