Bird and Belle's Adventures in Marriage

More Adventures in Marriage: Moving to NYC

5 Comments

Anyone who knows Jay and I will tell you that we both love a challenge. Perhaps that is why we got married… we each saw a tremendous challenge in the other?!  What ever the reason we ended up together, it’s just not in our nature to do things the practical, simple or sane way.

Pregnancy anxiety is only part of the reason there has been a lot of radio silence on this blog. There has also been career anxiety. Jay’s contract at UK is up in May and without a solid job offer on the table we were really struggling with how to proceed when our family grows from six to seven (that would be three humans and four cats for those who are scratching their heads). Then in February things started to look up – Jay had two interviews at two of his top choices for future employment! We sat, with bated breath, for the next month wondering what our future held. Finally, last week he received an official offer for a 2-4 year post doctoral position at a very awesome university in New York City!

We were overjoyed! Job! Employment! Baby will have diapers and the cats will continue to have kibble aplenty!

After the initial elation settled in, we started to realize what a monumental task was ahead of us… we were moving to NYC from Kentucky… from a nice big house to 1,000 square foot apartment… right after having a baby… without a support network of friends and family… with four cats? What? Are we insane?

Clearly we are because Jay formally accepted the offer on Monday and I alerted my boss to the changes this morning. Currently, Jay will finish teaching the spring semester, and then teach another class at UK during the summer so we can stash away some more cash. I’ll work up until I go into labor, which will allow me to work with my current employer in finding and training my replacement and making sure all ducks are left in neat, tidy rows. Hopefully baby will be punctual (ahahahahaha, I so know better than this) and come at the end of June as expected. We’ll then load up what remains of the Hineman Household the first week in August and set out to start our new life in one of the last places on earth I expected us to end up.

Whew, I’m so glad to have this out in the open! (This post has been taunting me from my drafts folder for two weeks.)  I’m also beyond excited to share our insanity adventure with you all in the coming months and to hopefully arrange some visits with friends and family within driving distance of Kentucky. And now I’m off to continue lining up some ducks (and cats). Cheers to new cities, new jobs, new babies and new adventures!

 

5 thoughts on “More Adventures in Marriage: Moving to NYC

  1. Hey, I will definitely visit Kentucky. But, I really want to visit NYC! Will you be setting up guest accommodations…maybe on the fire escape?? Good luck (prayers too) for this amazing and adventuresome chapter of your lives!

  2. Congratulations on the job for Jay! That is a big relief, I’m sure. The timing isn’t quite perfect, but heck, you two are young, and as you said “adventerous” you’ll come through this challenge with ease, or at the very least your sanity!

  3. Good blog today kid! That up-beat, positive out look will go a long way while you prepare for these two great adventures! Love ya!

  4. OMG NYC! That is awesome!! A big change no doubt but so exciting! I’ve only been there once but it was so cool. So much energy, so much to see and do! When I was there I rode the subway and there was a woman there who was riding the subway for the first time with her baby and it was incredible because my sister and I and a couple of the other passengers celebrated that fact with her, and took a picture of her and the baby with her iPhone. Maybe you’ll be that lady with her baby one day!

  5. Congrats! I heart NYC – can’t wait to hear about all of your upcoming adventures!

Leave a Reply

