Bird and Belle's Adventures in Marriage

The Salad Days

4 Comments

The rainbow beets really make this salad beautiful. If you can't find rainbow beets, any beet will do.

We have had a LOT of salad lately. Between my bountiful garden and the CSA there is literally more salad than we can eat. The unintended side effect of too much salad is major salad dressing burnout. My creamy vegan dressings are yummy but heavily laced with fresh garlic and onion. Last week I decided it was time for a change – I wanted a light, lively dressing that did not leave me with hot breath of doom. A bit of poking around in my cupboard lead me to a bottle of truffle oil and a pile of lemons. Enter: Belle’s Lemony Truffle Dressing. I know, real original name, right. So crappy name, but an awesome dressing. Especially when paired with garden fresh greens, fresh rainbow beets, turnips, carrots, green onions and flax seeds. Should you decide to try this, splurge and treat yourself to a small bottle of truffle oil, you will not be let down.

Belle’s Lemony Truffle Dressing

1/4 cup fresh squeezed lemon juice
1 Tablespoon freshly grated lemon zest
1 Tablespoon truffle oil
1 Tablespoon minced fresh basil
Salt and fresh ground pepper to taste

Whisk ingredients together and toss with a large bowl of salad. (My salad consisted of one head of butter lettuce, two small beets, one medium turnip, three carrots and one green onion and served four as a lunch.)

4 thoughts on “The Salad Days

  1. Sally, it IS the same bottle! I am ashamed to say that I have little use for truffle oil. It is soooo yummy when used properly, but you really have to have the perfect combination of ingredients. Although, I might be inspired now to see what else I can cook up with it… đŸ™‚

    Mom, you would like the rainbow beets!

    Faith, I probably should take a minimalist approach to my food. Must find more ways to save money and currently food is a HUGE financial drain. That might be my next project.

  2. I have never seen beets like that!

    Does the typical chef have truffle oil in her cupboard?? I do recall mailing a mostly full bottle to you that you or Jay purchased in Phx. Surely that’s not the same bottle!?

  3. That is the prettiest, most colorful salad I have ever seen! Just lovely!!

  4. Yummy!! Can’t wait to try it! See you soon~
    P.S. I am glad you are not taking a minimalist approach to your food. I think it is a great form of creativity for you PLUS the added benefit of nutrition!

Leave a Reply

