Bird and Belle's Adventures in Marriage

One

3 Comments

One year ago I made the best decision of my life – I married Bird.

Despite tremendous hardships, illness, tears an an unruly herd of cats we have made it 365 days. I feel overwhelmed every time I look at this amazing man and realize that of all the women in the world, he chose me. Despite my ability to fill a year with lengthy posts on food, cats, travels and moldy oranges, I find myself  with only one word when I think of our first year: perfect.

I love you Bird. Happy anniversary.

Song (Wintah, summah, snow er shine)

BY PAUL LAURENCE DUNBAR

Wintah, summah, snow er shine,
   Hit’s all de same to me,
Ef only I kin call you mine,
   An’ keep you by my knee.
Ha’dship, frolic, grief er caih,
   Content by night an’ day,
Ef only I kin see you whaih
   You wait beside de way.
Livin’, dyin’, smiles er teahs,
   My soul will still be free,
Ef only thoo de comin’ yeahs
   You walk de worl’ wid me.
Bird-song, breeze-wail, chune er moan,
   What puny t’ings dey’ll be,
Ef w’en I’s seemin’ all erlone,
   I knows yo’ hea’t’s wid me.
3 thoughts on “One

  1. And, I am so grateful that YOU chose HIM!

    I had intended to dedicate this song to you two at your wedding, but didn’t have a chance (DJ didn’t have it or whatever): “What are You Doing the Rest of Your Life?” Here is a Streisand version, among many, on YouTube (I love this song, and it makes me think of you both): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fC3HVSIVD_w

    Happy Day!

  2. Awwwww….this is the sweetest post. And the irony of your words will come soon. Let me know when you “get it!”
    Congratulations to you both! It is nice to see that marital bliss isn’t just a saying on a Hallmark card.
    Hugs!!

  3. HAPPY FIRST ANNIVERSARY!!! Hope you and Jay have a wonderful day!

Leave a Reply

