Bird and Belle's Adventures in Marriage

Slow

3 Comments

Arboretum, Lexington, KY, 2010

My year of soul-searching has brought me to an interesting place this spring. As I struggle to overcome illness I find myself faced with the need to rest more and do less. For some this is easy and natural. For me it is a challenge and struggle. My weekends are typically a whirl-wind of classes, cleaning, projects and socializing. By the time Monday morning rolls around I’m worn out and in need of a weekend – but my weekend is gone. This illness has forced me to stop, think, and prioritize all aspects of my life, even the most mundane. Take last Saturday for example:

7:30 a.m. – I wanted to bake muffins, but needed to run to the grocery store for a few ingredients. Or I could have eggs and toast. I chose eggs and toast to save energy and time.

8:00 a.m. – I made my grocery list but chose to grocery shop on Sunday.

8:30 a.m. – Shower but skip doing my hair to save time and energy

9:00 a.m. – Sewing lessons (another blog post for another day!) I stayed an hour and a half longer than planned and enjoyed conversation I would have otherwise missed. While talking with my fellow student and instructor I found a new inspiration, a new challenge and a new friend. What a treat!

1:30 p.m. – Visit with the Hines while they built garden boxes and enjoyed an afternoon of sunshine.

6:00 p.m. – Carry out vegan sushi dinner as I was getting tired and chose to save my remaining energy for one last activity

7:30 p.m. – Evening walk with my wonderful husband

While this looks like a full day to many, I left a lot behind. I did not go to the party Saturday night as I was getting tired and preferred to spend time with Bird only. I did not do my laundry in favor of spending more time with our friends that afternoon. I chose to grocery shop on Sunday after yoga as the Whole Foods is on the way. I did not complete my beading project. I did not cook a gourmet meal. I did not blog.

I did, however, have a wonderful, simple day with minimal requirements and maximum enjoyment. For me, this was a different kind of day. This minimal take on my daily activities is having a bigger impact in the rest of my life than I had expected. I feel less stressed. I enjoy my time more. I notice more (a lovely sunset, a beautiful stranger). I savor more (a rare meal out, a lengthy conversation with a friend). I am not sure, but I think I might be a better wife and I know I’m a better cat mom (there has been more time for snuggling).

While it is grand to be productive, it is Divine to slow down. I challenge you, my readers, to find a way to slow down this weekend. What can you forego to make time to enjoy someone or something more? What do you notice that you had previously missed?

3 thoughts on “Slow

  1. I’m glad to hear you are slowing down a bit. There really is something to that old saying, “Take time to smell the roses”.

  2. Bravo! Reading this post was a lovely way to start my day! Although my circumstances are totally different from yours, I want to remember that what I have enjoyed in a day is at least as important as what I have accomplished. I am also trying to redefine energy as a slow flow vs. a frenetic, often distracted hustle!

  3. Sarah, this is EXACTLY, 100% how I feel and why I’m having a little more “me” time. Some things aren’t getting done – the blog, 12 DIYs a weekend, READING blogs, etc – but I swear even after only a couple of days of this, I’m noticeably happier. I read a BOOK this weekend, for crying out loud! A real, honest-to-God book! So, I’m right there with ya. I don’t want to wake up at 40 and think, “Where on earth did my 30s go?” So, I applaud you!

Leave a Reply

