Bird and Belle's Adventures in Marriage

Bouncin’ Belle

1 Comment

Please excuse the poor photo quality here. My "good" camera is out of commission for the next few weeks.

This week I made a glorious discovery – 12 oz bags of frozen black-eyed peas for $1! I stared in disbelief. “I bet they have dairy in them or weird stuff I can’t pronounce.” I fished a bag out of the freezer and consulted the ingredients.

Ingredients: Black-eyed peas, water

I felt like I had just won the lottery. This week did not leave me time to cook my usual pot of dried beans and the thought of spending too much money on mushy canned beans made me sad. These frozen black-eyed peas were the perfect solution. I tossed a $1 bag in my cart and headed to the checkout with zero thought as to what I would do with said black-eyed peas.

This morning I poked around in my cupboard, fridge and freezer. What could I do with these peas… I did not have all the ingredients for a traditional vegan Hoppin’ John, but I did have enough things that I thought I could pull off a decent improvisational meal. Yes, I would prepare my own version of Hopin’ John tonight using an onion that was just about past prime, a can of fire roasted tomatoes and two green tomatoes I had frozen last summer. (I will post on freezing tomatoes soon…)

The end result was absolutely delicious and the entire meal came together in under an hour. We served our Bouncin’ Belle with left over roasted sweet potatoes, however, it would also be delicious with wild rice.

Bouncin’ Belle*

1 tsp olive oil
1 medium yellow onion, diced
3 garlic cloves, minced
2 cups Gayelord Hauser Instant Veggie Broth
2 large green tomatoes, chopped
1 can fire roasted tomatoes (the no salt added variety)
1 tsp. bourbon smoked paprika
1 12oz bag frozen black eyed peas
Kosher salt to taste
2 Tbs. nutritional yeast
1 Tbs. apple cider vinegar
1/4 tsp. liquid smoke

1. Saute the onion in the olive oil until translucent and starting to brown. Add garlic and saute for another minute.

2. Add broth, green tomatoes, can of fire roasted tomatoes, black-eyed peas and bourbon smoked paprika. Salt to taste.

3. Cover. Bring to a boil. Once boiling, remove the lid and let continue to boil for 20 to 30 minutes, stirring occasionally.

4. Add nutritional yeast and cider vinegar. Reduce heat and simmer for 10 more minutes or until it reaches a consistency you like.

5. Once your ideal consistency is achieved, remove pot from heat and stir in 1/4 tsp liquid smoke. Cover and allow to stand for 15 minutes prior to serving.

Enjoy!

*This recipe is 100% my creation and counts as No. 2 in my 31 in 365. 10 more to go!

One thought on “Bouncin’ Belle

  1. I love the looks of the receipe. Can’t wait to try it out. Now……if only I can find green tomatos here in Arizona.

Leave a Reply

