Bird and Belle's Adventures in Marriage

Spice-Tastic

7 Comments

 

Organized Spices!

Much to Mr. Husband’s dismay, I am finding organizational inspiration from Vegan MoFo. I am a tiny bit obsessed with organization and have a tendency to reorganize and “optimize” on a regular basis leaving my husband lost in his own kitchen and/or home. The other day I was skimming the MoFo blog feed and stumbled upon this organizational gem.

 

Mr. Husband and I suffer from what I call “crappy kitchen syndrome.” Our home is old and the kitchen is dated. One entire wall lacks cabinetry and instead is covered by a metal rack. This is actually not a terrible solution if we did not have four cats – anything you remove from the rack has to have the cat hair washed out before you can use it. The kitchen also lacks ample storage and counter space for all our pots, pans, food processors, etc.

The wire shelves where the spice bins now live.All this griping aside, I’m actually quite fond of my kitchen. I create a lot of exciting food in it and, despite its short comings, it rarely lets me down. The one HUGE annoyance, however, is dealing with all our spices, vinegars, oils, etc. All these little bottles take up a lot of space and collect a lot of grime. I find myself wiping bottle after bottle on a near monthly basis. So when I saw In the Mood For Noodles’ post I knew I had to give it a shot.

First, I cleared out all the spice jars and put the spices in “snack sized” zipper bags, each carefully labeled. Then I made quick divider tabs and organized the spices into two storage containers (originally intended to organize Tupperware containers and lids). The remaining bulk spices went down to the basement where we store our surplus ingredients and produce.

All this freed up a ton of space. My oils and vinegars were then organized in cupboards in single file lines, making it easy for me to see everything and make better improvisational choices. I added magnets to the backs of our Nantuckett Off Shore seasonings and put them on the fridge. And then I wiped everything down and relished in the splendor!

Below are some before and after photos. Please excuse the bad photo quality. I don’t take kitchen photos as seriously as I do my food photos… no one wants to eat my kitchen 🙂

 

 

7 thoughts on “Spice-Tastic

  1. Nice job Sarah! The magnetic tins are adorable. My most annoying cupboard contains a hodgepodge of oils and spices, and I usually have to take most of the bottles out to find what I need. It’s too small for single file lines, but maybe I should shift things around to make that happen.

    But anywho…what do you think of your mortar and pestle? I’ve been thinking of asking for one for Christmas, but I’m not sure if I’d use it that much. But they’re so pretty! How do you like yours?

    • I must be honest – I thought I would use this tons but really have only used it one time, and it did not work as planned! Currently it is just a pretty decoration. Maybe I can find inspiration to use it during this Month of Food. 🙂

  2. Very nice Sarah! I can see you had a good time. I cleaned out my cupboards and re-organized last November. The Hinemans were coming for turkey day and I didn’t want things to be falling on my head. I think your dad knows where everything is now. Must be time to re-organize again!

  3. I’ve been having a spring clean too – not in the kitchen yet but that is definitely on the cards.

  4. I absolutely love this post! I want to try some of these ideas someday when I have a cute kitchen, too! I am especially loving the magnetic spice tins!

    • Hey Maria! Thanks for stopping by the blog! I found amazing photo ops this morning at the arboretum. Sadly, I did not have my camera nor phone to call you and give you the tip! Next time I will be more prepared. 🙂

  5. I love the spices in the baggies idea! I have some furry friends in our home and we suffer from the same issues. I added a cute curtain to the front of our shelf unit and it helped a lot with the pet hair and dust.

Leave a Reply

