Bird and Belle's Adventures in Marriage

The end of a chapter and an internet detox

3 Comments

A beautiful iris from my mom's garden this spring. I hope to spend lots of time "bonding" with my camera during two week detox and capturing many photos to share in the weeks to come.

I spend almost every waking hour of my life connected to the Internet either though my laptop, my iPhone or my work PC. All this connectivity is great for working, blogging and keeping up with friends far and near, however, it can be spiritually draining. After great deliberation, I have decided to close the laptop, disconnect e-mail from my phone and live without Internet for the next 2 weeks. Conveniently, this corresponds with the two weeks of time I have between my current job and the new job. I hope to reemerge from my detox inspired, rejuvenated and more in tune with my personal and spiritual needs. Bird and I have planned many adventures for this time and promise to diligently photograph and share upon my return.

Until then, I have one final post for you all that I hope to crank out tonight and then at 5 p.m. on August 5 I will sign off for two blissful weeks of soul-searching with my new, and still fabulous, husband.

Cheers to cleansed hearts and minds!

3 thoughts on “The end of a chapter and an internet detox

  1. okay..are you over this internet detox stuff or what?!? We want all the details!!

  2. Good luck! I also feel the constant connectivity (though mine isn’t nearly as severe as yours) is spiritually draining. People need to learn to unplug and enjoy the world immediately around them instead of being so focused on everything but what is around them.

    Hopefully you won’t get this for two weeks. 🙂

  3. No computer, e-mail, i-phone for two weeks?! Good luck kid!

Leave a Reply

