Bird and Belle's Adventures in Marriage

Bird Food

3 Comments

This year Jay and I decided to take our culinary endeavors to a new level and joined a CSA, or Community Supported Agriculture project. With the CSA membership comes a weekly load of fresh organic produce for six months and a daily challenge of how to use, say, 8 cups of basil and 2 bunches of mustard greens before they go bad. Today marks our sixth week as CSA members and already we have discovered new foods and innovative uses for old standards – such as a broccoli pesto made to be allergy-friendly and breaded and baked kohlrabi topped with melted vegan Mozzarella “cheese.”

In the past Jay and I would cook by following a recipe.  Lately, however, I have taken to experimenting. I’ll consult one or two cookbooks for some generalized cooking tips and then I let my creativity take over: add a little of this, a little of that and toss in any produce that looks like it might pass it’s prime in the next 24 hours. I’m pleased to announce that the results thus far have been splendid.

Several weeks ago Jay was devouring another awesome meal of black bean enchiladas with grilled plantains and announced, “I sure have been eating well lately!”

“Well as in excellent quality ingredients or excellent preparation?” I asked.

“BOTH!” he exclaimed. Then continued to urge me to start writing down some of my experiments and then post them to the blog. I blew him off – no one wants to read that.

After more pestering, however, I have caved. In addition to reviewing fried fish plates and chronicling our other ridiculous adventures, I will begin posting occasional recipes that have been devised and tested by the Belle and Bird (well, mostly Belle, but that is another blog entry…)

Stay tuned for my first recipe –  Fresh Tomato Sauce with Caramelized Onions and Basil and Sinfully Easy Homemade French Bread.

Until then, go snack on a kohlrabi!

Made with our share this week!

3 thoughts on “Bird Food

  1. I don’t know what a kohlrabi is, but I love the veggie face! Glad you and Jay are eating so well. (Is that an ad by Schwans?)

  2. I love kohlrabi – like the veggie face too. A CSA is a wonderful adventure for a couple. We’ve belonged to one for a few years and are still figuring out what to do with beets! (an more beets)

    • Hi Tammy! I WISH we had a problem with too many beats! They are my absolute favorite. Try slicing them and then tossing with balsamic vinegar, a spot of fresh minced garlic, fresh rosemary and a bit of salt and pepper. Put coated beets in a tin foil wrap and pour the left over sauce into the wrap. Grill for 25 to 35 minutes until tender. They are amazing!

Leave a Reply

