Bird and Belle's Adventures in Marriage

le Tour de Fish

3 Comments

Fried Fish. It is my one  guilty pleasure. White, flaky, delicious fish… my mouth is watering already!

Our one week anniversary seemed a good time to have a fried fish adventure. And what if we brought the camera and photo documented the experience? And shoot, I might as well chat with the folks and get some info. And gosh, would this not make the best addition to our Adventures in Marriage blog? Something everyone can chew on. Something that is not soy, nor vegan, nor made from vegetables you only see on Iron Chef? YES! Let’s blog about fish plates!

The Bird and I are pleased to introduce le Tour de Fish – a series featuring fried fish joints throughout the Bluegrass and beyond.  Due to the unhealthy nature of this topic, we will shoot to feature a new fish joint every month or so. We will rank our meals on a five point scale in the following categories:

Ambiance: Not the candlelight, white tablecloth type. le Tour de Fish defines ambiance as “rustic charm,” “local color” or “dive.” A rating of 1 means the “ambiance” is that of Long John Silver’s (non-existent), while a rating of 5 means the place is just brimming with ridiculous amounts of color, local history, etc.

Service: Are we greeted at the door? Does the woman behind the counter call me honey? Can I fall into a 15 minute conversation with the employees about the weather while a line 10 deep stacks up behind us? If so, this place gets a 5 out of 5. If I am instead greeted with a luke warm McDonald’s-style smile and a “Thank you for choosing this fish house. How can I take your order” it will receive a 1.

Reaction To le Tour de Fish: If they all but hug us and then offer more places to try we will award them 5 out of 5. If they scowl and mutter “Put the camera away little girl” they will get a 1.

Size of Fish: This is a category I never thought of until this week’s fish sandwich. How big is this piece of fish? If it is small and square it gets a small and square rating of 1. If my fish overfloweth my plate or bun, it will get a 5.

and finally…

Taste of Fish: This will be tough, as I think I have only met one fish plate I did not enjoy. I will try my hardest to be unbiased here. A rating of 5 means this fish is so delicious I am seriously considering a second. A rating of 1 means we might have accidently stumbled into Hardees.

Now, wipe the drool from your face and stay tuned for the first installment in le Tour de Fish….

3 thoughts on “le Tour de Fish

  1. yayayaya! i can’t wait!

  2. Duh! I suppose Sushi wouldn’t fit into the “Fried Fish” category, now would it? Maybe I will start that Tour:)

  3. Well, when you visit PA again we will just have to take you to one of our favorite fish joints which just so happens to be that Brewery we took you to last time. And what about Sushi? Does that fit into this category?
    Gee, I never thought of you as a fish sandwich kind of gal but I suppose you do hang out with some of the feline sort~

Leave a Reply

