Bird and Belle's Adventures in Marriage

I Will Never Buy Salad Dressing Again

3 Comments

 

Let me be the first to admit that this dressing did not photograph well. I hope to order a couple new dishes for photographing food this weekend and avoid future gross looking creamy dressing photos!

Let’s face it – a bottle of salad dressing that lists only ingredients you can pronounce is expensive and does not really fit with our new year’s plan to save more. Rather than live a life of dry salads, I decided to start making my own dressings. Scary, right? I agree. Instead, I have avoided salad failure by sticking with other folk’s recipes. Susan V. at the Fat Free Vegan Kitchen has a great post on dressing, along with some killer recipes. My most recent salad creation combined fresh greens, sliced strawberries, pomegranate seeds, green onions and chopped tomatoes “dressed” with a divine Lite Goddess Dressing created by Susan.

For the past two months we have consumed this dressing on a near daily basis. Last night, spurred by a need for dressing and a lack of parsley and green onions, I decided to strike out on my own. My original intent was to create a balsamic dressing, but I was out of regular balsamic vinegar. I was also out of garlic and all fresh herbs. My dressing was not looking good. Rather than making another grocery trip I used what we did have: silken tofu, shallots, white balsamic vinegar and a gourmet Dijon mustard we received for Christmas (Thanks Clinton and Katie!). The end result was a creamy, tangy dressing that was met with grunts of approval as Bird chowed down.

Creamy White Balsamic Dressing

3/4 block of lite Mori Nu silken tofu
1/4 cup water
1/4 cup white balsamic vinegar
1 shallot
juice from 1/2 lemon
1 tsp. agave nectar
1 tbsp. Dijon mustard
1/2 tsp. salt
fresh ground pepper to taste

Put is all in a blender and blend until smooth and creamy.

3 thoughts on “I Will Never Buy Salad Dressing Again

  1. oh, this is exciting!!! my friend loren and i have been talking about making our own vinaigrette dressings…

  2. Just curious. What does the 1 tsp. of agave nectar add to the dressing?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers